The world’s best chocolate chip cookies, and no, I’m not kidding

This weekend I made the world’s best chocolate chip cookies.  I’m not joking, they were completely, unbelievably amazing.

And I used the recipe on the back of the bag of chocolate chips.

I’ve been baking chocolate chip cookies on my own for years.  Each and every time I baked them, I used the recipe on the back of the Nestle Toll House chocolate chip bag.  And they always turned out fine.  I mean, they were good, but they were never “drool at the thought of them, threaten anyone who stands in the way of you and these cookies, I’m serious, move now or I’ll kill you” good.

These cookies are that good.

I’m not bragging either.  Trust me.  I know when my food is good, when it’s REALLY GOOD, and when it’s “yeah, that could have turned out better.”  The last time I made cookies was around Valentine’s Day.  They were oatmeal chocolate chip and they were just “eh.”  They were really flat and crispy and that’s not what I was in the mood for at all.  I took a baking hiatus until after the cruise because really, we were in training mode.  There is a LOT of food to be eaten on these ships and I needed to make sure that I was in prime eating condition.

Anyway, after planning on making these cookies for like, a week, we finally did it on Friday night.

And we’ve been gorging ourselves since then.

These cookies were amazing and perfect and fan-freaking-tastic and they came from that same off the bag recipe that I’ve been using for years.

With a few modifications of course.

Modifications that I’m going to share because I like all of you.  And even though Boo is really angry at me right  now for sharing (when I reminded him that he wanted me to send the recipe to his brother, he said this was GOLD and needed to be kept in the family, man) I am sharing anyway because I am just really nice like that.  Plus, if I don’t share, I’ll be the only one gaining cookie weight and that’s just wrong.

So the original recipe, which can be found at the Nestle Web site, is as follows (but to make it easier for me, I’m going to put what I did in red):

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I used like, a teaspoon and a half.  Not even a full half.  But that extra pinch of salt is KEY!)
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened (I used 1 full stick and 5 tablespoons from the 2nd stick)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (plus an extra splash)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (no nuts, I never use them and I feel they sully the cookie.  Sorry Nestle recipe people.)

Directions

PREHEAT oven to 375° F.

COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. (Okay, this was a big whoops, I put ALL of the “wet” ingredients in at once.  I don’t know if this mattered or not though….) Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels and nuts. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown (We cooked for 8 minutes.  5 and then we switched the cookies to the opposite racks for the last 3). Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes (uh, yeah, we skipped this step and removed them right away); remove to wire racks to cool completely (we skipped this step too.  What?  We had to taste them right away while they were still gooey and amazing).

Now that’s the gist of what I did.  Actually, that’s everything I did.  Except for this one teensy addition.  I added about 3 shakes of cinnamon to the flour mixture before we blended it in.

The result?

Cookies that were thick and delicious, slightly salty (but mostly just not overly sweet), and with just a tiny hint of cinnamon–not enough for you to realize that it’s cinnamon but enough for you to realize that there is something different about these cookies.

And the best part?  They are still just as moist today as they were on Friday.

So go, little ones!  Go and bake!  And when you do, please come back and tell me how amazing they are!

16 thoughts on “The world’s best chocolate chip cookies, and no, I’m not kidding

  1. this is not how i needed to start my morning, now i want choco chip cookies STAT.
    i always use the recipe on the bag too, the salt is definitely key. i’ve found that now that i make them with the wedding Mixer (love you kitchenaid!) they’re more delicious. not sure why, but it seems to make a difference.
    i’m totally making cookies tonight!

  2. Arielle: Oooh, should I have posted a drool warning before this?

    NSJ: Oh yeah, I can only make cookies with a mixer. My weak arms can’t handle mixing by hand haha!

    M.O.L.: I’m glad they worked out for you too–it proves it wasn’t just fluke yumminess!

    Mocha Dad: You’ll be a hit if you bake these this weekend, trust me!

  3. Well, well I will have to try this. I always love a good chocolate chip recipe :) And I agree, I hate adding nuts to the cookies. They definitely ruin the taste.

  4. Jessica: Let me know how it turns out if you try them. I’m convinced these are the yummiest ever!

    Jamie: We all need cookies in our lives. Life is just better with cookies.

    Paula: Ooh, wow, that’s a bit out of my range. I can barely get them to Boo’s office so he can share with his co-workers haha!

  5. Okay so I’m making cookies for my book club meeting on Sunday and thought “I remember somewhere there was a post about how to make the best ever choco chip cookies” and here I am! I will be trying out your methods on Sunday morning. =)

  6. Update! I made the cookies. They are delicious. However, I actually found that they tasted better after cooling down a bit than they did straight out of the oven.

  7. Bridget: Yeah…I actually mentioned that in my post, that it’s the recipe from the back of the bag. But that’s my point: that a few minor tweaks took Nestle’s recipe from good to awesome.

  8. I’ve been baking cookies for a very long time. There are a couple of ways to make sure the cookies are the best anyone has ever tasted. First, cook at 350 not 375. Trust me, this is big. Under cook the cookies about a minute, remove them immediately from the tray and let them cool on cooling rack or wax paper. (Reason, cookies will continue to cook for several minutes after they are out of oven.) Cookware is also important. I like to cook on stoneware whenever possible because it’s its the most forgiving. If stoneware is out of the question, try using an insulted pan. This will make sure they cook evenly. Lastly, and I hate to say it because I was a huge Nestle fan, but you got to choose different chips. Nestle did something to their manufacturing process a couple years back that give their chips a funny after taste. In my part of the country we’ve got Hershey’s and Ghiradelli. I use Ghiradelli 60% cacao bittersweet chips. I also like their double chocolate chips. Anyway, happy baking!!!

Leave a Reply

