I know he’s Jack Bauer, but he can’t teleport yet, can he?

*WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILER ALERTS FROM THE NEW SEASON OF 24 WHICH NOW THAT I THINK ABOUT IT AREN’T ACTUALLY SPOILERS IF YOU’VE SEEN THE FIRST 4 EPISODES OF THE SEASON.  WHY AM I STILL YELLING AT ALL OF YOU?*

la

As most people probably know, 24 premiered on Sunday night.  At this point, we’re now 4 hours into the day/season.  This time around Jack Bauer is in New York with a whole crop of newbies working at CTU.

And they don’t know shit.

Except Chloe.  She knows what’s up because she has worked at CTU and with Jack Bauer before and she knows what he is capable of.

But has anyone had any faith in Chloe so far?  Nope.  No they have not and so far they have been SHOWN UP.  But I digress.

So anyway, CTU New York is being run by this guy Brian Hastings.  Hastings has been running around, thinking he’s the poo because he’s in charge, but I’m not so sure that he’s qualified to run CTU.  And I’ll tell you why.

CTU is supposed to be all about government security and anti-terrorism and they know how to hack computers and stuff and yet they let this Dana Walsh character in.

If you’ve seen any of the first few episodes of this season, you know that Freddie Prinze Jr.’s character is dating Katee Sackoff’s character Dana.  Or should I call her Jenny?  Yeah, uh huh, CTU is managing to employ someone who has an entirely false identity.  She created a whole new I.D. and no one bothered to do a background check on this chick?  Chloe is getting a hard time because she can’t keep up with the new computers, software, or whatever and Dana/Jenny isn’t even who she says she is.  And no one has found this out yet?  I mean, Chloe hacks a computer in the office and someone knows about it immediately but this chick sneaks right into the government agency?  HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE!?

And another thing.

I know that I haven’t watched in a few seasons.  24 isn’t exactly a show you can watch if you don’t have a VCR (back in my college days) or a DVR (yes, I have caught up with technology) and you have a varied schedule.  Before Hulu there were no options.  You were home for 24 or you missed it.  And they got a lot done in an hour.  I mean, these are some of the most productive people on television.  Because their hour is a REAL hour.

And that’s where I run into my problem.  Even during the first season when they were stationed in L.A. Jack would hop in a car and then 13 minutes later be outside of the city.  I have been to L.A.  I have ridden in cars in L.A.  And I know that there is no way in hell that you could get out of the city in 13 minutes without a jet pack or some sort of teleportation device.  And now they are in New York.  And in one of these first few hours Jack managed to get from CTU (which from the look of their helipad is actually located in New Jersey?) to whichever outer borough that Russian guy went to when he killed that other cop and then he managed to get to the UN in time to save Freddie from getting a bullet in the head.  Now, listen, I’ve gone from Midtown to Brooklyn by car.  And I’m going to tell you that there is NO WAY Jack made that drive in under 30 minutes.  But according to the handy countdown timer, he made the trip in approximately 9 minutes.  Even with the police siren wailing, there is NO WAY he could do that.

Continuity what?

6 thoughts on “I know he’s Jack Bauer, but he can’t teleport yet, can he?

  1. I watched the first season of 24 and then lost interest. Mainly because I HATED the idea of watching something that spanned over a day over nearly half a year in my own life. Plus Elisha Cuthbert is one of the most annoying girls on screen i have EVER come across.

    I won’t be watching it again.

    Liked your post though!

  2. I agree with Paula….this season I was really glad to see Kim Bauer (Elisha Cuthbert) fly back to L.A. so quickly…hopefully that was the last time we will have to encounter her this year!

  3. I live for 24 in January, an otherwise dull month. This season needs more JACK! I mean , I like Rene , she’s very crazy…but we ALL watch for Jack Bauer. I agree, the new CTU is quite unimpressive to say the least. I can’t stand this lame -O ~~~Jenny/Dana, and right—how can’t CTU know of her double identity??? I mean her wacko ex-boyfriend figured it out -and CTU didn’t … rewrite!!! And I agree with M.O.L ~~happy to see Kim fly back to LA~ it figures she lives here!:)))

  4. Sorry, but the new underground NYC HQ of CTU, along with its heliport, looks like it is on the East River, located on the Western tip of Long Island which faces Manhattan, so it is in either Queens County or Brooklyn County, which are ‘politically’ are parts of NYC but are located on Long Island. It is not on the New Jersey side of the Hudson River.

    This past Monday, Chloe said that Renée was being held by the Russian mob at a location along ‘Newton Creek’ but I think she should have called it ‘Newtown Creek’, which does exist along the Brooklyn/Queens border.

  5. M.O.L.: Oh you know Kimmie…she’ll be back to mess something up later in the season! Plus, I don’t want that to be the end of Jack’s cute little granddaughter!

    A.J.: Thank you!!!! That is totally my point! I think CTU should hire her ex, he clearly knows how to do his research!

    Drake: Well you can see what a Manhattan proper snob that I was when I lived in NYC can’t you? Oh sure, I spent 3 weeks living in Queens, but the most I saw of the East River was crossing over it to leave the city. Thanks for clearing things up for me!

Leave a Reply

