I’m regretting that I made fun of my brother when he turned 25

I remember it clearly.  I was a mere 20 myself.  I had just left my teen years behind.  My mid-twenties were barely in my sights.  So it was easy to remind him that he was leaving his early twenties behind.  That mid-twenties is just a year or two from late twenties and late twenties becomes thirties, which, to someone who just turned 20 might as well be dead.

I regret that decision now.

On December 31st I will turn 25.

UGH.

Did you read that?

25!

Oh my gosh, I’m sorry, I LOVE people who are older than 25.  Oh, come on!  You guys remember what it was like, don’t you?!  DON’T LEAVE ME!!!  If you leave, you are all ageist and that is just WRONG!  It’s the holidays, people, WHY ARE YOU DISCRIMINATING?!

Anyway, as I was saying, I am turning 25 this year.  I’m not the first of my friends to do it, sure, but I’m finally starting to feel old.  My maid of honor/best friend decided that on her birthday (it’s today!  Happy birthday Cait!!) rather than turn 25 she is going to turn  22 again.  22, she theorizes, was a good year; close enough to 21 that getting good and drunk in celebration is still okay but far enough away that she doesn’t get skeptical looks from the bartenders.

As I was reviewing my decade, I realized that I started high school 10 years ago.  Let me say that again. 10 years ago I was a freshman.  IN HIGH SCHOOL!  That is just crazy talk.  I can’t have been fresh out of middle school 10 years ago, can I?  10 years ago I was just a 14 year-old girl.  My cousin is 14.  That is freaky.  (Oh wow, I’m about to go into a “back in my day” rant…I’ll try and save that for later).  In 10  years I will be 34.  It’s highly likely that in 10 years I will have 2 kids and a dog.  I will be on the verge of turning 35 which will put me on the verge of being 40.

Whoa.

Oh, but wait.  10 years ago, 60 was the new 50.  And now, 50 is the new 40, so in 10 years 40 could be the new 30 which means that 35 would be the new 25 so I’d be right back where I started.

Be glad you aren’t in my head.

7 thoughts on “I’m regretting that I made fun of my brother when he turned 25

  1. i loved 25. i can’t believe you’re feeling old… i wasn’t even thinking about “old” at 25. however cut to 2 years later when i celebrated my 26th for the 2nd time. and, well, i’m still celebrating it : )
    and i hate to break it to you but you’ve already been in your “mid-2os” (20-23= early, 24-26=mid 27-29=late at least that’s my scale : )
    enjoy 25 and relish the fact that you were able to marry the love of your life so young… i’m jealous

  2. Do you know how long ago I started high school? 1991. EIGHTEEN YEARS AGO! Okay, so we start high school a couple of years earlier in the UK but still . . .

    I had a mild panic this year as I was turning 30 but you know something? It wasn’t half as bad as I thought. Honestly, 25 is nothing to worry about!

    Have a great birthday when it comes! :)

  3. I kind of liked 25. 27 is weird because I kind of forget how old I am. 26? 28? Somewhere around there.

    It’s a boring number.

    25 is ok. It’s like, old enough that you can get annoyed at the liquor store when they ask for identification.

  4. Hahaha, I was scared of turning 25 (last April), but it turned out to be one of my most fulfilling years to date.
    Yay!
    Hope you handle it better than I did the night before I turned 20…that might have involved a lot of tears, grumps and the cry of “I won’t be a teenager anymoreeee!”

  5. You know, in all fairness, with the wedding this year I completely forgot to countdown to things this year. Christmas snuck up on me, as did my birthday and when I realized that “holy crap, 25 is creeping up on me!” I felt like, “wow, that’s old.” Now that I’ve had a few days to marinate on “25” (thanks to the beauty of scheduled posts ;) ) I’m thinking it’s not so bad. Plus, how scary can it be if I forgot to countdown to it?

  6. Ahhh! I am sure you make a lovely 25. My trick in the whole age issue is to have a best friend (or significant other) who is one year older than you. That way, you can help them deal with their age anxieties whereas when you turn their age it is like playing constant ‘catch up’ and you never feel anxious about it!
    It works. Trust.

Leave a Reply

