A decade in review, part 2 (the part where I actually remembered what happened)

So like I said yesterday, Leah, over at Five Blondes, did this post a few days ago and now that I finally remembered what the heck happened over the last 10 years, I’m posting my own recap.

In 2000 I got braces and an expander and lost about 5lbs because my mouth hurt so badly! I had a pretty big part in my first school play, Be My Ghost. I went to my first N*SYNC concert and sat in box seats directly across the stadium from the stage.  The band was so tiny they looked like they could have driven MicroMachines.  But to a teenage girl in the midst of a boy band crash that didn’t matter.  That fall I went to another N*SYNC concert at Penn State (my first trip to the campus–this would also be my first time at THON’s Family Carnival).   I turned 16 on New Year’s Eve and my friends threw me a surprise party (the only one I’ve ever had).  They also got me the shoes that N*SYNC wore in their No Strings Attached tour (super cool slip on Nikes with these weirdo web laces).  I was  tad invested in the band.

In 2001 I was cast as soldier in the winter play, a non-speaking role that required me to attend ROTC gun training.  At the beginning of my junior year I got my braces off and a week later got invited to homecoming.  I was convinced it was connected but my mom told me I was acting crazy.  A few weeks later the guy I went to homecoming with asked me out.  He was my first high school boyfriend and the relationship lasted 4 weeks.

In 2002 I was a state and national qualifier in Humorous Interpretation for speech and debate during my junior year.  The summer before my senior year I got my first kiss (I know, 16–such a late bloomer!).  Unfortunately the guy tried to take the kiss back and basically just ended up being a horrible person.  I started my senior year of high school and I was in my first musical since the fifth grade.  I had a one-word solo and I botched the note.  It was something I’d been dreading since I was a freshman b/c I knew eventually I’d get stuck in a musical!  I took my first semester of high school TV (my second semester and my experience in editing were the reason I went to PSU and started out majoring in film).

In 2003 I graduated from high school, the same school I’d gone to since kindergarten.  2 weeks later I headed off to Penn State to start my first semester of college a semester early.  I had friends participating in summer session and decided that I would go up too.  It was the best decision I ever made.  I had an absolute blast and when fall rolled around, and the 40,000 kids who weren’t at summer session with me showed up, I already had a leg up on things.

In 2004 I pledged a co-ed service fraternity called Alpha Phi Omega.  It was…an interesting experience to say the least.  This is the year that I met my best friend Cait.  She lived in the dorm next to me and we’ve been friends ever since.  I started dating a senior from my fraternity.  He was the second boy to say he loved me and 6 weeks after we started dating he broke up with me.  Because he cheated on me.  Because I wouldn’t sleep with him.  I could not have been happier to be rid of him.

In 2005 I was a THON moraler for the first time. At the beginning of my junior year I moved off campus and into an apartment with 4 other girls.  The first night in the apartment our neighbor across the hall peed in my roommate’s bed.  I met a guy in poetry class and a few weeks later he became my boyfriend.  My roommates told me that, despite the fact that we’d planned to live together the following year they were getting a 3br so they could each have their own room when their boyfriends came to visit.  I scrambled and found a kickass apartment, directly above my favorite bar and across the street from campus.  Their apartment fell through and they ended up living 15 minutes away from campus.

In 2006 I broke up with the boy from my poetry class and pierced my tragus a week later.  That was the first, and only, pseudo-rebellious thing I’d ever done.  I took my first internship, an editorial position at Town & Gown magazine in State College.  I even got to model for one of the articles.  I met Boo at THON and we eventually went on our first date May 19 (but it would be another year before we finally started dating).

In 2007 I moved into the apartment above the bar.  I participated in a Beer Olympics.  I applied for a Dow Jones Newspaper fund internship.  I danced in Penn State’s Dance MaraTHON and the weekend changed my life.  It was completely amazing.  46 hours of no sleeping and no sitting and I’ve never felt so blessed.  I raised money for the best cause I can think of and I was happy to do my part to give the kids a weekend to forget and to just be kids.  I also started dating Boo that year, a year to the day after we’d met.  I heard back from DJNF and found out I’d been placed at a Pittsburgh paper and would be interning there all summer.  I graduated from Penn State with 2 degrees, moved to New York City and began my internship at Elle Magazine.  This was also the year I started my blog.

In 2008 I got a job at [redacted], my first “big kid’s” job.  It came with a good salary, good benefits and access to sample sales which made me pretty happy.  I also chopped about 8 inches off of my hair.  Looking back, this was a fairly dull year.

In 2009 I got engaged in March.  I was on The Today Show in a segment on how to dress your body type.   I resigned from my job in September and relocated from NYC to the Philly suburbs.  I married Boo in October.  Since then, I’ve learned what it’s like to see the man I love every single day instead of 2 days a week.  I’ve learned what it’s like to be a wife and I am loving it!!  I also started a fashion/style blog called street cake.

7 thoughts on “A decade in review, part 2 (the part where I actually remembered what happened)

  1. I cant believe that guy tried to take his kiss back. What an arsehole.

    Sounds like a pretty terrific last couple of years you’ve had. Cheers to even better times coming our way! Merry Xmas to you and your Boo.

  2. Matt: A TOTAL arsehole, right?! But while it sucked at the time, I can now happily report that he’s gained about 60 lbs since then and has lost quite a bit of his hair. He probably should have been nicer about that kiss.

    Hope you had a Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year!

    Paula: Oh yay, I hope you post! (and in case I responded to this post after you posted your own review–YAY I’m glad you posted!)

    Boo: It IS nice, isn’t it?

  3. I just love this post! It’s really interesting and I followed you from *Insert My Blog Name Here*. She got the idea from you and I got it from her!! I hope it spreads like wild fire. I’m working on mine now!

  4. Yet: Glad you liked the post and glad I could inspire you to write one too!

    Mich: Haha, I was just talking today about how this WAS a big 10 years…all of high school and all of college AND getting married!

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!! :)

Leave a Reply

