A decade in review, part 1

Leah, over at Five Blondes, did a “decade in review” a few days ago and I thought it was a great idea so I decided to do one as well.

And that was when I realized that I don’t have a damn clue what happened in the last 10 years.  Seriously, it’s painful how little about the past 10 years I actually remember.  I set up all of my years, ready to fill in the blanks with what happened.  And…well, it stayed blank for awhile.

There were certain years that I just had no recollection of.  Either nothing of note happened or I couldn’t remember it.  Mainly it was that I couldn’t remember what happened.  I actually had to list out where I was during the years in question.  That whole split school year thing was, for whatever reason, throwing me off completely so I had to map out just where I was during the last year.

Pathetic, isn’t it?

I tried to think of what had happened and when and it kind of just went like this:

Okay, so this year I got married and last year I got a job and the year before that I graduated and moved.  Then there was high school, and my birthday got shafted on Y2K.  Oh, wait, technically that was 1999.  Crap.  Okay, so well, I got my driver’s license, right, what year was that?  And…oh I went to like 3 N*SYNC concerts.  When were those?  Did I do nothing else in high school?  I also remember the year Penn State came up with its own holiday “State Patty’s Day” and we drank a lot, can I count that as stuff that happened?  Oh gosh, I’m so sad if I count stuff like that.  I must have done other stuff that year, right?

So I called my mother and asked for her help filling in some of the details.  That conversation went something like this:

Me: Mom, what year did I get my braces?

Mama B: Why?

Me: Because I’m trying to write a ‘decade in review’ for my blog.

Mama B: Um…so shouldn’t you actually know when this stuff happened?  How are you going to write a review if you don’t remember any of what happened?

Me: …

Mama B: I mean, unless you can download your brain….

Me: Okay, are you sure you don’t remember what year I got my braces?

And it pretty much progressed from there.

But eventually I managed to fill in the blanks.  Except for 2008.  For whatever reason, that was a remarkably slow year.

4 thoughts on “A decade in review, part 1

  1. It was difficult for me as well to think of the years events. To be honest some of the things might be off by a year, but with this exercise you can be as lax as you want! I tried to think of the general themes of the years, not every single detail. If you read Hope’s (I linked to it on my blog), hers is soo specific and very daunting! Soo … maybe you shouldn’t read it. Not until after you finish yours, at least.

    Good luck! I can’t wait to read it :)

    P.S. Thanks for the link love!

  2. Erica: It’s unbelievable how much everything just blends together!

    NSJ: Are you kidding? I can barely remember stuff that happened three days ago let alone three years!

    Leah: Oh yeah, I prefer the lax approach to this! Because while there are some events that I could get very specific about, there are others that are kind of like…hm, well, I vaguely remember being there….

Leave a Reply

