How I became the soon-to-be Mrs. Boo

First of all, thanks to everyone for the congratulations and well wishes!  Boo and I are beyond excited!!  As promised, here is the story from Saturday night.

Late December I found out that I was moving to a new team at work.  Boo told me he wanted to take me out to dinner to celebrate.  Well, when March rolled around and we still hadn’t quite gotten to that fancy dinner, Boo told me that we were definitely going out on Saturday.  He made reservations at Koi, a Japanese restuarant inside the Bryant Park Hotel.  We got gussied up (I’m such an old fogey already!) and, after a more-treacherous-than-usual cab ride, made it to the restaurant.  We went early (perfect for us) and sat in a corner table.  We ordered drinks and after they arrived I suggested that we toast to something.  Boo asked what and when I couldn’t come up with anything, he said this:

“Let’s toast to your new job and to our future together.”

We clinked our glasses, drank and the toast was over. I thought after that it would be business as usual.  So when Boo said, “so I have a question for you” do you want to know what I said?

“Yeah, what’s up?”

I said “yeah, what’s up?” after drinking to our futures together.  I didn’t bat an eye.  It didn’t even occur to me that he might be proposing.  Until he reached into his coat pocket.  And pulled out the little box.  And said “will you marry me?”

I was so shocked that I immediately started crying–I couldn’t even say “yes” right away–I just nodded over and over until I could finally talk and then I think it was a combination of “ooooohmygawd!” and “yessssss!!!!!” and Boo slid the ring on my finger!

The waiter, who was a hoverer (partly due to lack of crowds and partly out of desire for a good tip) saw and had complimentary champagne sent over and they decorated my dessert with “congratulations” in chocolate! (What better way to say it?!)

After dinner (most of which I was too excited to eat!) we took a little walk through Bryant Park and I called my parents, who, of course, already knew it was happening.  Even though their “surprised” voices weren’t as convincing as they could have been, they were still absolutely thrilled to hear the news!

After that Boo and I walked to Grand Central and stopped to get Starbucks and take a picture before we hopped the train back to my place.  After all, what’s more fitting for us than celebrating, even for a minute, in the one place we’re both in and out of every single weekend on our way to spend time w/each other?

That’s it.  That’s the story of our engagement.  When we got back to the apartment Rachel and her bf were there, waiting to see the ring because they knew it was happening too!  We spent the rest of our night calling friends and family, drinking Rachel’s award-winning (no really, it is!) cocktail and discussing who would win in a battle, a gorilla or a grizzly bear (more on that later).

I have to say, I’ve never been what you’d call a “perceptive” person and I don’t always know what’s going on–even when there are a million hints dropped in front of me.  But this?  This was probably the biggest and best surprise I’ve ever gotten.  And to all of those who had to keep the secret?  Well done!  I had absolutely no idea it was coming!

la

Now, to answer the questions that everyone’s been asking:

Boo and I are getting married Friday, October 23, 2009 in Pittsburgh.

We have no idea where we’re going to live yet.

The ring was custom-designed by a jeweler in Boo’s hometown.

And, for good measure, one more picture from our engagment night:

koi1

Hm, since we got engaged on Pi Day, does that mean we have to have wedding pie now instead of cake?

25 thoughts on “How I became the soon-to-be Mrs. Boo

  1. SO exciting! what a great story, i love it… my favorite part is definitely “yah, what’s up?”
    and it sounds like he deserves a huge pat on the back for his planning and be able to keep it secret… you got a good man!

    and of course i’m (biasedly) happy you’re a friday wedding couple too! and you’re in the same kind of short time frame i’m working with so i’m looking forward to trading horror stories : )
    but of course it will all be great and beyond the drama that some people like to cause it’s so fun to plan and i just can’t wait to see it all come together! oooh… and the DRESS! can’t wait to see your dress!!

  2. ugh, i’m just so excited for the two of you! i can literally see you saying, “yeah, what’s up?” in the restaurant like it was no thang, too, haha.

    are you still at [redacted]? AND PLEASE STAY IN NEW YORK BECAUSE I SWEAR TO GOD I’M MOVING THERE BY THE END OF THE YEAR AND I NEED AN OLD MARRIED COUPLE TO LOVE AND TAKE CARE OF ME.

  3. I think it means the ring has to be 3.14 karats. Only makes sense.

    Congrats! I missed this yesterday so I have to be excited for you today.

  4. It would have been more romantic if when you said, “Whats up?” he thre the ring at you and yelles, “Thats whats up!”

    Then it would have gotten awkward though.

  5. NSJ: Oh, I know right? Who comes back with “yeah, what’s up?” lol! Oh and I’m loving the Friday wedding plan–I have a feeling it’s going to make my life soooo much easier!

    Court: Haha, nice. Well, you know me! And yes, I’m still at [redacted]. We’re gonna do our best to stay (or at least to stay close) but if not, you know you’ll have to come visit wherever we end up!

    Matt: Bear, eh? Hm, interesting that you are voting that way. We’ll discuss.

    Narm: Oooh, I like the way you think! (Just kidding Boo, I love my ring!)

    rs27: Is it wrong that I actually think that would have been kind of hilarious?

  6. So exciting! What a great story! And a “yeah, what’s up?” answer is romantic in it’s own right because it sounds like conversation you’d have with your bestest friend, which I’m assuming – you were :) CONGRATS!

  7. Oh WOW!!!

    Congrats!!!!

    No more trains and weekends that go by too quickly for you two! Yay!

    I’d like to see a better picture of the ring now. Perhaps a close up would be nice.

  8. I am seriously so happy for you both.
    The ring is beautiful and Boo did a great job :)
    It’s a pretty awesome feeling, huh? Enjoy it! Enjoy it! Enjoy it!
    :)

  9. Thanks to everyone for the congratulations and well wishes! We are so excited and your wishes have made the new engagement even more special!

    Oh…one more thing. Grizzly beats Gorilla.

  10. Lily: That’s totally how it was! And yeah, he really is my bestest friend!! :)

    MinD: Haha thank you for ALL of your different congratulations!

    Kristen: I know–hallelujah no more long distance! (oh, and the ring picture is in the post before this one!)

    Kez: Thank you so much! And that’s my plan–to just enjoy planning (b/c it won’t last that long!)

    katelin: Thank you so much!

    Boo: You’re right, all the well wishes HAVE made this that much more special, so thanks again to everyone. But, dear, even though I love you, I still think you are wrong and there is NO WAY a grizzly is beating a gorilla.

    andhari: Thank you!! :)

  11. First I got chills. Then I got a few tears in my eyes. What a really wonderful story. Because honestly? The best proposals are the ones that come as a surprise. I love that he pulled it off! Oh, and October weddings are the absolute best. Not that I’m biased or anything (my own wedding date: October 18, 2008). =)

  12. That’s so exciting, congratulations… you really should have Pi Pie. I’m sure there is something romantic about being engaged on a day celebrating circles, the symbol of engagement and wedding rings.

  13. Matt: Yes, it was CLEAR that the bear would win….

    Lauren: Thanks–both for the congrats and the gorilla vote!

    Nilsa: Aw, thank you! Yeah, it was so exciting that it was a surprise–I was totally blown away when he asked!

    Andy: Look at you and your symbolism, were you an English major?

    Ryan: Thanks!!

    Mermanda: Aw that’s fun! Venue is the Hyeholde–what’s yours?

    Maxie: Thank you!!!

    michelle: Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

