Mele Kelikimaka

Aloha, friends! I’m Erica, also known as one of (the eldest of!) the Five Blondes.  Last week Stealthnerd twittered that she was looking for some bloggers to guest post on her blog while she was away.  Do you have preferred topics? I asked.  Will the posts be vetted for quality control? I queried.  When she answered “no” to both, I had to jump on the chance.  Where else can I write whatever I want, as badly as I want?  OK, I’m just kidding about the quality control and bad writing part.  I’m  sure she’ll give this a glance before hitting publish.  But she did say I could write whatever I want, and today being only 3 days before Christmas, the topic was pretty much pre-set: Christmas.

I love hearing about Christmas traditions.  I love hearing about families who go caroling around your neighborhood on Christmas eve, or who decorate the tree on Christmas eve.  I am in awe of people who volunteer at homeless shelters during the holiday season, sharing with those who need it most.  There are just so many special ways to celebrate with your friends and family.

Like vacationing in Maui.

Every year, my cousins fly to Maui with my aunt and uncle to spend Christmas on the beach.  They escape the cold Albertan weather to lie on the beach, surf, golf, and take helicopter rides to pass the time. Presents like KitchenAid stand mixers (for my cousin’s girlfriend – not even a family member!) and designer clothes and bags are exchanged before they leave for two glorious weeks of sun and fun!  No, I’m not jealous.  It’s not something I would enjoy.  Rather, I’m utterly confused.

I just don’t get it.  As a ‘good Canadian girl’, I just cannot fathom a Christmas where the world (my world, at least) is not covered in snow and ice.  Where the only time I hear “Mele Kelikimaka” is while watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.  Where I can walk outside without a coat on and not fear frostbite.  Peppermint and cider just doesn’t taste the same when it’s plus 20 degrees (Celcius – about 68 degrees Farenheit)!

Obviously, to me, Christmas = snow.  I suppose that this is partially because of where I live, and partially because of the culture of Christmas that tells us that Christmas should be a winter wonderland that we travel through on horse-drawn sleighs.  It’s awfully strange, considering that Christmas really started much closer to the equator than I am now.

Maybe my cousins have the right idea after all….

3 thoughts on “Mele Kelikimaka

  1. I love that scene in Christmas Vacation, with Eddie on the diving board drinking a beer. Then that hot salesgirl… dang… why did my parents let me watch that movie when I was 12?

Leave a Reply

