I always feel weird saying “see you next year”

It’s the third week in December.  It’s the time of year where people start to say “I’ll see you next year!” and then laugh and laugh because it’s so HILARIOUS that 2 weeks from now it will be 2009 and therefore “next year.”

I hate that.

I always feel so weird and bizarre when I say “see you next year” knowing that I’ll see the person the following Monday or Thursday or whenever.  But I always say it.

It’s like a compulsion.  Even though you know, logically, that it will be a matter of days before you see someone, rather than say, “I’ll see you next week” you say “I’ll see you next year!”

I want to know why.  Why do people always say that?  They inevitably follow it with the awkward laughter and/or one of those stupid finger point things which means they KNOW they are being corny and weird yet they can’t help themselves.

Is it because there is only a short window where you can say “I’ll see you next year”?  Is the rarity of it somehow really appealing?  And if that’s the case, then WHY the bizarro, slightly ashamed, reaction as soon as the words leave your mouth?

I feel like this is just one of those inexplicable winter traditions.  It’s been engrained in us to say it.  We don’t want to.  We feel stupid doing it.  But we always end up saying it.

I’ll see you next year*.

la

la

la

*I won’t ACTUALLY see you next year (well, not most of you anyway).  Nor will it be next year until you hear from me again.  I’ll be traveling in the next few days, but I promise you’ll hear from me before January 1st.  And don’t worry–I’ve got some lovely ladies to fill in for me while I’m gone so be sure to stop by and show them some love too!

15 thoughts on “I always feel weird saying “see you next year”

  1. i just thought about this phrase last night. and how much i wanted to say it the other day but i wasn’t completely sure if i would see that person between now and 1/1/09 so i didn’t.
    i love saying it! but for some reason when certain people say it i want to stab them in the eye.

  2. In New York City the proper response when someone uses that corny joke is “no you won’t, because I’m going to F***ing kill you for saying that stupid saying again!!” …They usually dont use it the next year.

  3. I actually sort of do this all year around, because I usually finish phone calls with friends by saying “See you later” even if it won’t be a few days or whatever. The reason for this is that I can be quite flaky, so don’t like setting myself in stone with a you tomorrow”.

    Until they got used to it my friends would always reply “Later? It’s 9pm!”, etc.

    I think everyone enjoys irritating others a little. :p

  4. NSJ: That’s how I feel about myself when I say it–like if someone stabbed me in the eye, I wouldn’t blame them at all.

    Dutchess: True dat.

    Kristen: I’m telling you–it’s some sort of sick compulsion! IT MUST BE STOPPED!

    Matt/Apollo: I may not be…since I’m sans-cool phone w/Twitter apps (aka living in the stone age?) I may be TOTALLY DISCONNECTED!!! AHHHH!

    King: That’s a good point–I’m sure they keep their mouths shut after that!

    Dingo: I’d laugh if you said it.

    Andy: Very annoying indeed. I hope for your sake that you don’t see anyone next year either.

    BRR: I won’t deny you the finger point.

    Astharis: Ah yes, the flaky all pull lines like that. It’s how we roll. Personally, I like it that way.

  5. This was actually worse in 1999.

    “See you next millenium!”

    No, idiots, the millenium starts in 2001 and then you had to have an extra 15 minute conversation. the only good thing about 1999? That damn Prince song.

Leave a Reply

