The ulitmate Christmas playlist

Christmas came a little early in my apartment!  I recently won the bag giveaway that was being hosted on Confessions of a Cohabitant.  I was excited to see my super cute bag arrive (and some extra goodies inside–everyone loves discounts!  If you haven’t yet, check out Bella Dawn Boutique!)

Since I’ve gotten one present already, I decided it was time to pass a present of sorts to you guys.

A few years ago I dated a guy who, despite his faults, was a master of mix tapes.  The guy could compile music like it was his job and I came out of that relationship w/some pretty excellent mixes (in fact, that’s a big reason I wish I’d stayed friends with this guy–my music has suffered a bit since we broke up!)

He made me the Christmas mix that’s been on my iPod since we dated and now I’m passing it to you guys.

The ultimate Christmas playlist (in track order):

Cartel: Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
Jimmy Eat World: Last Christmas
Ron Sexsmith: Maybe This Christmas
Thrice: Carol of the Bells
Sixpence None The Richer: You’re a Mean One Mister Grinch
The Eels: Christmas is Going to the Dogs
Kevin Devine: Splitting Up Christmas
Bon Jovi: Please Come Home
Mavis Staples: Christmas Vacation
Jason Gleason: Sleighbells and Wine
My Chemical Romance: All I Want for Christmas is You
Rooney: Merry Christmas Everyone
Bono: Please Come Home
Red Peters: Holy Shit it’s Christmas
The Beach Boys: Little St. Nick
Ben Folds: Lonely Christmas Eve
Relient K: Gloria Excelsis Deo
The Eels: Everything’s Gonna Be Cool This Christmas
Jimmy Eat World: 12.23.95
Rilo Kiley: Christmas Cake
Copeland: Do You Hear What I Hear?
Thrice: Happy Christmas (War is Over)
Linkin Park: My December

Of course for me, it’s not Christmas if I haven’t listened to the below as well:

Death Cab for Cutie: Please Come Home

Munkafust: My Birthday’s Near Christmas and it Sucks (practically my theme song!)

Jose Feliciano: Feliz Navidad

The Drifters: White Christmas (This one’s for you, Andy.  But seriously…I listen to it ALL the time!)

Nerf Herder Christmas Rockers: Santa Has a Mullet

Mariah Carey: All I Want For Christmas is You

*NSYNC: The entire Home For Christmas album

lala

Now I realize that “Please Come Home” is on the list three times…but…what can I say? It’s a pretty good song and it’s three pretty different versions…sue me (that same sentiment goes for All I Want for Christmas).

Happy playlisting!

What are your Christmas mix must haves?

13 thoughts on “The ulitmate Christmas playlist

  1. Step 1) Put cinnamon sticks and apple juice in a saucepan, bring to boil, reduce to simmer.

    Step 2) Play Christmas carols by those beautifully classic jazz singers like Etta James and Nat King Cole.

    Step 3) Relax into Holiday bliss.

  2. I’m actually banning myself from listening to Mariah Carey’s song until the week before Christmas this year… Otherwise I turn into a little kid again and get much too impatient!

  3. Not gonna lie…I stole the mix last year and kept it hostage (Hey..I have a car!) Anywho the kid makes a rocking good mix…wish I’da been friends with him too. My friend Chris has made a Christmas mix that I thought would be top notch. Brave Combo polka and Jethro Tull jazz flute…*sigh* the kid scares me a lot sometimes.

Leave a Reply

