100 Days till THON!!

Today there are 100 days until THON.

What’s that?  You don’t know what THON is?

I figured as much.  Well, for a bit of an explanation, read this.  Or this.  For those of you who didn’t want to click the links, here’s the short version:

THON is short for Penn State’s Dance MaraTHON and it is a 46-hour no-sitting, no-sleeping weekend that raises money for pediatric cancer research.  ALL of the proceeds (not some, every single cent) goes to the 4 Diamonds Fund at Hershey Medical Center.  On THON weekend, the 4 Diamonds families come to Penn State–they hang out with the dancers, with the athletes, with the students of Happy Valley.  They get a weekend vacation from the stress and the fear of their every day lives.  And they give us real-life examples of heros.

My senior year in college, I was blessed with the opportunity to dance.  I’m proud to say that I made it the full 46 hours and that that weekend was one of the best weekends of my life.  I can’t say it enough.  This year, I want to do a little something different.  I have this blog, I have this platform where I can share a cause that’s really important to me and hopefully get some awareness to the cause.

So here’s what I’m going to do.  I was inspired by rs27 and his brilliant idea.  I’m going to donate 5 cents per comment, from now until THON weekend (Feb. 20-22), up to $100.  I know, this isn’t as monumental a number or an offer as rs27, but here’s the thing.  That’s my blog donation.  I’m also donating money to help a friend of mine get the chance to dance.  What I’m hoping, is that I can make matching donations.  If you want to find out more about THON, check the site here.

And if you want to know how the road to THON breaks down, check out the video below!

**2 final points.  I’m not counting my own comments–I like replying to you guys but I want to see what you can do on this!  Also, I’m going to put up my total donations tally at the end of every week.

Oh, and in advance:

YOU GUYS ROCK!

65 thoughts on “100 Days till THON!!

  1. Yay for alumni supporting THON! I just did a news package on PSU-Lehigh Valley’s 100 days till THON events, so I could spread the word about THON in my community!

  2. Great Idea! Here’s another 5 cents from a fiveblonde!
    I love dance-a-thons. I was part of lots when I was in dance, and I was actually a part of a cheer a thon in university last year!
    Good luck!
    Lauren

  3. Thanks so much for all the support! We’re off to a great start already!!! Keep the comments coming! Any comment on any of my new posts b/w now and Feb. 20 is worth 5 cents!

    And too answer some of the questions you guys asked while commenting…

    Matt: Yes, we met at THON. We were both moralers. The next year, after a few dates , we reconnected on the dance floor–he was moraling, I was dancing–and we’ve been together ever since!

    Mermanda: May ’07.

    Keep it up guys!! FTK!

Leave a Reply

