Sophomore Slump

Lately I’ve been feeling a little…blah about blogging.  Don’t get me wrong, readers, I love it.  I love writing and I love reading what you have to say about what I wrote.  And I love reading what you have to say about your own stuff.  But the past few weeks have been a struggle for me to get something down on paper, er, screen.  I even took a whole week off, which was unintentional at first, but as the days dragged on, that’s how it happened.

I’ve been trying to figure out my problem.  Is it b/c it is fall and getting colder and there are less people out and therefore less people for me to write about?  No, that can’t be it.  I’ve seen lots of crazy stuff recently.  Is it that I’ve told you guys about all my weirdness?  My likes/dislikes/fears, etc.  But in a way less cheesy and obnoxious way than that?  Nope, I still have lots of weird crap to tell you about.

The problem, I’ve decided, is that I’m in my sophomore slump.  I’ve been writing since last summer.  About a year a half now.  This is really the longest I’ve kept up with any hobby.  Not that writing is a hobby, per say, but until I start getting paid for, it’s going to be categorized as a one.  I’m not BORED, mind you, just at a loss for words.  Which, for those of you who know me in the real world, is a shock, I’m sure.

So…that’s where I’m at today.  Sorry to not be my usual, hopefully witty or at least amusing, self.

I’ll work on it.

11 thoughts on “Sophomore Slump

  1. I know how exactly how you feel!

    I get into strange little lows where I have nothing to say – not even in my personal LJ – and won’t write anything for, well, forever. Then three entries pop out of nowhere.

    Eh, just a slump. It won’t last for eternity, right? Ha.

  2. If you dont have anything to write about…you can tell us what that red poster is in the background of your picture…

    I’ve always wondered…

  3. i hear ya’. i’ve felt that slump lately too. there are weeks at a time when i don’t want to write anything and then there are days when i’ll sit down and right 6 posts and put them in drafts. they come in handy on those days when i just don’t feel like it.
    luckyily i’ve got the whole dress shopping thing going on because otherwise i wouldn’t have much to say right now.

  4. I’m in the same boat. I’ve taken a week off too (except last night’s post promising to catch up soon)… my excuse? Changing jobs. How that’s relevant? Not sure. I’m there. Don’t feel bad!

  5. I get like that from time to time. I wrote a post earlier today but deleted it because I just wasn’t feeling it. It probably wasn’t even all that bad, but I just feel so tired and blah in general that even the funny stuff isn’t funny to me anymore!
    You’ll get through it!
    :)

  6. You know what you need? Drinks! Let’s go out for drinks! I’m still relatively new to blogging. I’ve only been doing it since March so I haven’t hit the “my god what am I going to write about!” stage yet. But when I do, I expect you to take me out for drinks. Drinking is always rife with blog fodder.

  7. Thanks to everyone for your support of my slumpiness!! And for offering to get me drunk. That’s always a nice offer! And always does result in blog fodder (oh Dingo, so wise, so so wise!!)

Leave a Reply

