I don’t like the Pumpkin Spice Latte

I don’t like the Pumpkin Spice Latte.  I know I’m supposed to, but I don’t.  I don’t think it’s good.  I think it’s too sweet.  I think there are better things on the Starbucks menu.

Every year, everyone I know waits impatiently for fall for the first PSL of the year.  Me?  Not so much.  If I wait for anything it’s winter and the Gingerbread Latte.  Tall, half-caf GBL–that’s my winter jam.  Roomie goes for the Peppermint Mocha, partially b/c of the sprinkles.  I could get on board with sprinkles.

But pumpkin flavoring?  I just can’t do it.  It’s like drinking a pie.  It’s weird to me.  And I know that the gingerbread is like drinking a cookie but that’s not as weird.  The consistency of the pie is what freaks me out.  It concerns me that, in theory, someone could have purreed and strained a pie then heated it up, poured it in a cup and slathered whipped cream on top.  Well, whipped cream never concerns me–it’s the rest of that process that makes the PSL icky to me.

And yet, despite these worries, every year they keep rolling that PSL out.  And people flock to Starbucks to get the first of the year.  Then they Fbook and Tweet about it.  It’s as exciting as if it were the first 2-hr delay of the year (which, by the way, I miss).  But it’s just coffee.  In theory, you could stock up on pumpkin flavoring from CoffeeMate and rock the homemade PSL all year.  But you don’t.  You wait and you pine all summer long and then you rejoice.

And I don’t get it.

Because I don’t like the Pumpkin Spice Latte.

I may be the only one in America who doesn’t, but I’m okay with that.

29 thoughts on “I don’t like the Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. I’m not down with pumpkin anything besides carving.

    I am so ready to stake out a starbucks in anticipation of the Gingerbread latté though. That’s pure delicious.

  2. when i lived in a world with Dunkins (ie. anywhere but here) i used to look forward to the annual release of Pumpkin muffins & Cinnamon coffee. ohh, it’s SO good! there’s no better way to start a brisk autumn morning

  3. I’ve never actually tried the PSL, mainly because I’m not really that big of a fan of pumpkin flavour. But now that you’ve mentioned the whole puree pie thing, the idea of it kinda creeps me out a bit.

  4. I don’t either. Caribou (the MN/Midwest version of Starbucks) does one of those and it’s pumpkin flavoring added to their White Chocolate Mocha, which I already don’t like since I don’t like it’s inherent ingredient. So I’m with you. No PSL for me either. I DO like pumpkin-flavored any kind of baked good – bread, cookies, waffles, pies, etc. Now we’re talkin!

  5. Ben: I’m totally stoked to make a jack-o-lantern this year. That is if Boo lets me wield the knife…

    Boo: I know you love them! But I’m sorry, they just don’t do it for me! Blech!

    Matt: I didn’t say I didn’t like PUMPKIN…just the lattes!

    NSJ: Oooh, I could get on board w/cinnamon coffee. Yum!

    BRR: It’s TOTALLY creepy, right!?

    Lily: Ew, adding it to the white chocolate mocha? How could they? That is surely not going to help the cause…

    Erica: I’m totally trying the peppermint this year!

    Paula: I’m more of a tea girl myself, but the GBL is my one exception.

    drZibbs: Ah, I gotta be honest–I don’t hate the pumpkin beer. (See Matt! It’s just the lattes!)

  6. I have an unproven theory. Men like pumpkin WAY MORE than women. Maybe pecan too.

    I for one only care for decaf mocha frappuccinos EVER. I don’t change with the seasons. I’m not into any holiday flavor-except maybe vegetarian stuffing. If someone offered to mame my stuffing in any way-I’d be forced to violence.

    Maybe I’m just strange (considering that last comment it’s a definite maybe), but I hate gingerbread too. Ick! I just don’t like strong spices. Even the candles make me wanna gag.

    I’m a little sad that I can’t revel in this flavorfest with you people.

  7. I’ve never met anybody who likes the PSL – it’s disgusting.

    I’m all for the peppermint mocha, which they don’t tell you but is available year round. They just don’t advertise it. I imagine it’s the same for the PSL – available year round.

  8. I totally agree…it’s a creepy flavour! I like the gingerbread, that’s what I’m holding out for and in the mean time I’m all about vanilla, as per usual.

  9. Heather: I like your male v. female pumpkin theory. I think you may be on to something.

    Meg: Shut up! Those tricky devils. I’m totally going to scout for the GBL now!

    Jamie: Psh, you shouldn’t do pumpkin. And how dare you tell her to slow down WordPress! Maybe you should speed up!

    Mermanda: I wish you the best–it’s safe to say, I won’t be stealing the groom on the wedding day ;)

    Alexa: Let this be a lesson to you!

    Dingo: I usually don’t either. Like I said, I’m a tea girl.

    Kyla Bea: All the cool kids hold out for the gingerbread.

  10. All those overly sweet fancy schmancy drinks at Starbucks weird me out. Tall Coffee. That’s my order. Depressingly boring, you say? Why, yes it is. lol. But it gets the job done, at least, and without making me feel like I just had a whole meal. Which is a plus, I think. :)

  11. Apollo: Yeah, that’s a good point actually.

    kbklynish: I hear ya on the full meal. I used to love the fraps in high school but I could skip lunch if I had one–too big!

  12. I don’t like lattes, period. Coffee and espresso are disgusting to me… ‘Tis true.

    I’m a hot chocolate gal, and ya know what, it’s hot-chocolate season all year ’round, baby.

  13. MinD: Have you tried the new sig. hot chocolates at Starbucks? I’m wondering if their “signature” is any different from their regular hot chocolate or if adding the word “signature” make the extra 40 cents okay haha.

Leave a Reply

