You know what Facebook? You are PISSING ME OFF!

I never thought I’d have to say it, but Facebook is becoming a pain in my ass.  I used to love it.  It used to be cool.  Well….okay, it was cooler than say, MySpace.  And no, I will not get into a battle about which is better.  I had issues with MySpace.  I had an ex who proved to me that MySpace is for creepers and weirdos.  That is all I am going to say about that.

But now…Facebook.  What are you doing to me buddy?  First, the applications.  I kept trying to ignore them.  Trying to pretend that they weren’t there.  Then, slowly but surely, I got sucked in to the application chaos and there’s been no turning back.  But it wasn’t bad.  I mean sure, I wasted a few more minutes in my day, but I was okay with that.

Then they brought out this “new” Facebook.  And it sucks.  No one likes it.  Statii (statuses?  Matt, didn’t you have this issue?  What’s the plural here?) all over the place are exclaiming the hatred of New Fbook.  Some rude folks are bragging about how they still have the Old Fbook and ice cream sundaes every day and a pony of their very own.

Well.  Maybe not the pony or the ice cream.  But they are definitely bragging about how they haven’t been forced into the new, shitty, less-user friendly Fbook.

But now for the last straw in the Facebook-is-irking-me basket: I have to “confirm” that I am the “author” and “owner” of my own blog.

Because having the WordPress application on my Facebook page for the last 8 months wasn’t confirmation enough.  I’m being punished for not being tech-savvy enough to make html changes to my page.  I have to beg people on my friends list to confirm that I own my own blog.  And this is a pain.  Like most people, I’m not actively friendly with half of the people on my list.  The half that I consider real friends versus people I had classes with or met while I was on a bar tour or some team or another, well, they don’t all read my blog.  I don’t spite them for this–I tend to be a bit, verbose, and people don’t always dig that.  That’s cool.  But it pisses me off.

So, Facebook, while I sit and wait for that one last confirmation that I need to prove to you that yes, I AM the owner of my blog, I hope you enjoy this post about how much you are pissing me off.

Because you know it’s going to show up in my stupid, un-collapsable mini feed.

19 thoughts on “You know what Facebook? You are PISSING ME OFF!

  1. I know you are going to murder me for this. But remember when the news feed came out and everyone freaked out and hated it? Now I love the news feed. It streamlines my Facebook stalking. Give it some time.

  2. I don’t get the hate on for new facebook. Its looks may change but it’s still the source of petty drama, break-ups, perving on vanity photos, and –

    Okay. I hate facebook both old AND new.

    What’s the link? I’ll confirm your ownership. I’m all over the blog networks shite.

  3. I’m a big failure at facebook. I probably make it seem much harder than it really is though!

    Link to your network, let’s be facebook friends! I promise I will more than likely rarely login and comment because I forget it exists and when I do sign in, can’t work it!

  4. Narm: You do make a good point. The stalking got immensely easier with the mini-feed.

    NSJ: Do you also have a pony and an ice cream sundae?! I’m SO jealous!

    Ben: Thanks for confirming my blog!

    BRR: Yeah…I have that same problem. It’s a bit of an addiction.

    Jamie: Well of course we’ll have to be Fbook friends…we’re clearly internet BFFs…what with all of our TV similarities and all!

  5. I never got clarification on the statuses issue…still bothering me. Help?

    I dont have the new facebook app yet…but I think it would be cool to have a feed into my blog…

    as long as I can convince the book of face that it is in fact, my blog.

  6. Matt: I’m going with statii. Mainly because it sounds fun. Oh, and if you really just want your blog to feed to your Fbook page, just get the wordpress application. That’s what I have. Fbook still doesn’t believe me that I own the blog, but whatever…

  7. The new facebook just doesn’t look as CLEAN to me. I liked the one page. I like the simple format. Everything is bigger now, bolder. Too much. I’m not THAT into it.

    I’ll confirm your ownership! It was a pain to do mine as well. I’ll go find your blog thing.

  8. I did giggle to myself when I saw your title for this post show up in the feed this morning. Teehee.

    On another note facebook gave me the option of sticking with the old facebook…I can’t remember where I saw it though. I am useless.

  9. Kristen: You are in for a shock next time you log in!

    Jessica: I feel exactly the same way!

    Apollo: You’re almost better off that way–you’d be even more lost if you knew.

    Lauren: That’s just it! Why do I need pages now? Can’t I just have it all on one page, where I know where everything is? This is like when I “clean” my room and forget where I put everything. (Ooh and thanks for confirming me!)

    Meg: I’m glad it was good for a laugh. I was kind of hoping that the (as Matt so awesomely put it) the Book of Face would be irritated by my insults showing up in the mini-feed.

  10. It all started with the mob app. Now, I’m blocking apps. left and right! Soon, I will have no friends…just pictures of forgotten faithfulness…memories of once cherished wall-to-walls.

    Sigh.

  11. Oh god. I was told by my friends yesterday that they had been involuntarily converted to “new” facebook (FB for short – I’m down with the cool kids). I had not as of yesterday morning at some god-forsaken hour when I logged on while rewriting an assignment – last minute panic.
    I am scared to log on today. No0ne I know has had ANYTHING good to say about New FB. NO-ONE! What the hell? Damn FB people and their evil superpowers.

  12. Found your blog through Oh! How Lovely! and her props to you. I just have to say we can totally be friends. You meet the only requirement that I currently have for my friends: Must hate the new facebook. I already had to break up with a few. But they were mostly jerks anyhow. No loss there!

  13. I haven’t claimed my blog as i’m not sure how many friend people in the real world i want to be able to access the address of it. But i think the whole thing is ridiculous that someone has to confirm you own it. I suppose that at least it stops other people from trying to claim your blog as theirs though. In theory . . .

  14. Heather: We should have a moment of silence for that….

    Kez: You are right to be scared. It’s no good. No good at all.

    Amanda: Psh, gotta toss the jerks. I’m glad we can be buds tho!

    Paula: It’s totally ridiculous! Especially for those of us who have had the WordPress app. for months already!

Leave a Reply

