A letter to my migraine

Dear Migraine,

How ’bout you cool it already, okay? I mean, enough is enough. You’ve been with me for nearly 5 days now, and frankly that is just too long. You’re such a tease too. You hide out for awhile so I think you’ve left and then, when I least expect it, POW! and there you are, right back over my eye again.

And what is your obsession with my stomach? It’s bad enough that you’ve wrecked my head, but do you have to mess with my stomach too? You’ve got me nauseous so I can’t eat. The lack of food makes me hungry to the point of being nauseous. And then, yes you guessed it Migraine, I am so nauseous that I can’t eat.

What did I ever do to you, head, that you’ve invited this terror in? I mean, I treat you well, don’t I? I take my contacts out when my eyes get tired. I take my hair down after it’s been in a ponytail for too long. But no, apparently none of that is good enough for you. You insist on allowing this migraine to set up camp.

And where does that leave me? I’ll tell you where. It leaves me eating ice cream for breakfast because real food grosses me out. It leaves me taking a variety of products containing ibuprofen and/or acetaminophen. It leaves me wanting to nap but forces me to stay awake because some of said products contain caffeine. It leaves me in glasses because I can barely see straight with my contacts in. And it leaves me with a constant question: am I hungry or nauseous? I’ll be honest with you, Migraine, I just don’t know anymore. If I don’t eat, I feel hungry and therefore sick. If I do eat, I still feel hungry and therefore sick.

What do you want from me, Migraine? Seriously? What the hell do you want from me? Because there are some things that I would like from you. No…you know what, there is only ONE thing that I want from you, Migraine, and that is to leave. If you could seriously just peace out, that would be great.

Sincerely,

Angrily,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

