Please DO feed the bears

The cousins were in the city from upstate tonight so we all went out to dinner in my ‘hood. (After the notorious first day that kept me from blogging but so saddened some of you that I had to post–even if it’s just a short one!)

We went to one of my favorite restaurants and were just finishing our dinners when a couple sat at the table next to us. Actually, they sat in shifts. First the girl. Then she left and the guy sat for awhile. Then he left and they both came back and sat down. Weird.

Our table reached a lull in the conversation (which is rare for Italians, let me tell you) and I heard this from the scowly lass at the next table:

I’m sorry, but I will NOT be pleasant until I eat something.

Her date tried to comment but she glared at him with such ferocity that he shut up mid-sentence. She tried to follow that with one of those “sorry I was bitchy but it’s been a long day” kind of comments, but really, the damage is done at the point. Her date didn’t say another word–in fact, he was 3/4 of the way through with his Guinness (while she’d wolfed down a few pieces of bread) before he even looked up again.

On the one hand, I’m scared of this chick. On the other, I’ve had those nights…and I wanna say I’ve thrown that line out a few times myself.

2 thoughts on “Please DO feed the bears

Leave a Reply

