How Excedrin Migraine is unhelpful

I tend to get migraines. They blow. If you’ve never had one, consider yourself lucky. If you have, then you know just how much they blow. Your entire head feels like it is going to explode and all you want to do is barricade yourself in a dark room. Unfortunately my apartment is perpetually as bright as the sun and there’s no real escape from the light. (Before you say, “get blinds” I have some and they do nothing but keep people from seeing into the apartment.)

Luckily for me, I found a product that works and is non-prescription. Excedrin Migraine. As soon as I feel that nauseating pain (because yes, even though it’s in my head, it nauseates me) above my right eye, I grab one. And I feel better within 15-20 minutes. Excellent.

So, how is this unhelpful, as the title of this post would suggest? The reason Excedrin Migraine works is that there is caffeine in it (okay, that isn’t why, but that is present in the pill and I’m not a scientist so that’s the best I can do). The only good thing about getting a migraine is that it is perfectly acceptable to do nothing but loaf around all day (an act that is normally frowned upon). This is where the caffeine becomes problematic. You forget all about your little headache until you try to go to bed. A good night’s sleep will ensure that you’re head pain free in the morning but you can’t fall asleep. You toss and you turn and you try to figure out what the problem is. Then it hits you (much like the searing pain did only hours before). You took an Excedrin Migraine. You will now officially be up for years. Bummer.

2 thoughts on “How Excedrin Migraine is unhelpful

  1. I never even knew that. Maybe that’s why I prefer to take about 5 Tylenol PMs and then hit the sheets.

Leave a Reply

