That’s it…you can officially call me Scrooge.

Bah and humbug. I love Christmas but I hate tourists. And I hate mass stupidity. Thus, the lighting of the tree at Rockefeller was probably one of the most obnoxious events of my life. And I wasn’t even there.

After my morning commute I was irritated to say the least. Some lame NASCAR event had the streets near my office closed down (or at least blocked) and the sidewalks filled with people. And not just people. Tourists. And not just tourists. NASCAR fans. NASCAR fans might be some of the most annoying people on Earth. And at 9 a.m., that’s just more than I can stomach.

At 5 p.m. I ventured out again. I had a 10-ish block trip to make. Unfortunately, every street that I needed to get to where I was going was blocked because of this stupid tree. So after battling hordes of camera-weilding city-invaders, metal gates and cops, I made it to where I was going….then had to turn around and make my way back. A trip that under normal circumstances would have taken 45 minutes and $20 took over 2 hours and over 40 bucks. Are you kidding?

As if that wasn’t bad enough, the cops wouldn’t let my cab pull in front of my building. Super. So I pryed myself and my garment bags out of the backseat and I was faced with an uncomfortable choice. Fat guy or small child. These were the people blocking my path. I had a decision to make here…someone’s getting pushed out of the way and I am in a less than pleasant mood. So who’s it going to be?

Well, you gotta learn sometime kid. Move it or lose it in the city, and whatever you do, don’t let go of mom’s hand.

Leave a Reply

