Pardon, should the big black clouds be worrying me?

So one of the interesting side effects to living in New York is a heightened sense of paranoia. Not that I’ll be mugged, murdered or raped of course, but since 9/11 things make you stop and ask “uh, should I be worried here?” Example? How about today?

I’m sitting in my apartment, looking out of my window (I’m typing stuff, I’m not just staring out of the window like a lonely cat lady) and I see huge billows of dark smoke. Hm, well, that’s interesting. I’ve seen a lot of buildings smoking today–heat finally getting turned on and all–but this did seem excessive. I went back to my computer and looked up again a few minutes later. Still smoking. Well, at this point I start to get a little concerned. So I turn off my Top Model Marathon (so you know I’m already upset) and flip to CNN. O.J. trial. Keep flipping. O.J. trial. O.J. trial. O.J. trial. (Which, by the way, was beyond boring).

Local news, national news, no one was covering the billowing smoke. Sweet. I’m not dying. Now, it’s not that I was actually concerned–really, who’s gonna bomb the upper east side?–but when you see big, black clouds floating upward for 15 or 20 minutes, sometimes you start to worry. Where are my shoes? Where is my coat? How long will it take the elevator to get up to my floor? Do I have time to make a sandwich?

Pardon the lack of humor in this post–my wit is being put on hold while I get over a cold–but to make up for it, I took pictures and will post them asap. But until then, have a good weekend kiddos.

smoky city

Leave a Reply

