No more pencils no more books no more teacher’s dirty looks…

Back-to-school shopping is, by far, my favorite activity of the fall. Don’t get me wrong, I used to cringe every time I saw Staples’ “Most wonderful time of the year” commercial back in the day (that day being high school). That was before I fully embraced my nerdiness. Now, nothing makes me happier than a pack of new pens. Post-It notes…with lines on them!? Be still my heart! The 20-pack of Sharpies?! GET OUT!! Glue sticks, markers, scissors…the list goes on and on! My favorite Christmas gift last year was actually a gift card to Staples (feel free to laugh…just means more notebooks for me!)

So imagine my disappointment this year, when, for the first time in 17 years, I have NO school shopping I need to do. No new pens. No Post-Its. Nothing. The thought of that was just too much to bear, but, resourceful as I am, I made do with the best option at my disposal.

I bought pre-work supplies instead. I’m job hunting and in my field, you can’t look for a job without a portfolio so I got to (minimally) live out my school shopping desires.

Card stock–to post my clips.
Glue sticks (the purple kind that dry clear)–again, to post my clips
Binder, dividers, and plastic folders–to keep my portfolio neat and tidy

It wasn’t much, I’ll admit, but it did manage to soothe the craving…at least for the time being.

But word to the wise: don’t let me near Target by myself for the next few weeks or I’ll be coming home with $300 worth of crayons, erasers, and (like you’re shocked by this) Post-Its.

One thought on “No more pencils no more books no more teacher’s dirty looks…

Leave a Reply

