Stop calling my baby ugly!

The worst part about my job, crappy hours aside, is that I have this tendency to want to be creative. Heaven forbid I attempt a little humor or intrigue in a headline, but this IS a writing industry and, well, that sort of thing is frowned upon, so I shouldn’t be too surprised.

Despite that, it’s a huge letdown, morning after morning, to see my witticisms changed to things like: New building opens. Really? Screw the article on UK terrorist attacks, I have GOT to read that story!

My most recent heartbreak came from a brief about a marathon reading of Kerouac’s “On the Road” in celebration of its 50th anniversary.

Marath(On the Road) reading

Not bad for 2 columns. No way I could have fit anything with actual details in those specs. And besides, a little wordplay never hurt anyone. But, sadly, it was shot down (primarily out of fear of my boss).

People outside of this industry don’t really get how much something like that sucks and all I can compare it to is someone telling you, after 9 months of hard work, that your baby is ugly.

So please, stop calling my baby ugly.

Leave a Reply

