It’s hard being a grown up!

Today was my paper’s intern lunch, which, for the reporting editors, was a great thing. They got a 2-hour break in the middle of the day. Jenny and I on the other hand had to be to work 5 hours early. That’s kind of a lot of hours. But we made the best of the situation–we used our 3 hour break to go shopping downtown!

Jenny and I have both lived in (okay, fine, in the suburbs of) this city our whole lives. Despite that, neither of us ever spent much time in the city and therefore did a little more walking today than was probably necessary.

Thankfully our travels took us to the PPG Place Fountain! Okay, let me stop you right now: I’m totally serious and not at all sarcastic. I’m also kind of a 6-year-old.

So, the fountain runs 2 pattern types, random and set, at different points in the day. At 2:25, after a long, hot walk to downtown, Jenny and I were just minutes away from the 2:30 random blast. The first sprays of water shot from the ground and Jenny and I proceeded to cool our feet.

Standing over a low-bubbling jet, I said “Wouldn’t it be funny if this went off while I was standing here?” As irony would have it, I received a shot of water to the inner/upper thigh before the word “here” was out of my mouth–much to the amusement of the 20-something man on his cell phone nearby!

Undeterred, Jenny and I dipped arms and legs into the fountain until a little blonde girl came running up to us and tried to push me into the spray.

“Get in!!” she yelled, soaked from head to toe.

“I can’t, I have to go to work,” I replied, clearly disappointing her (and let’s face it, myself).

“What about you?” she asked, looking at Jenny.

“I have to work too,” Jenny said.

The little girl frowned and I offered the only thing I could think to say in consolation: “It’s hard being a grown up!”

Leave a Reply

