Caprese Pasta

If I had to pick one food to eat for the rest of my life, it would be pasta.  There are so many varieties, so many things I can do with it.  I can have it hot or cold, long or short, stuffed or non-stuffed.  The options are endless!

Despite the many, many, ways I can eat pasta, I sometimes forget to shake it up.  I get in a rut with my favorites.  Currently I’m in a rut with Caprese pasta.  It’s so fresh and light and perfect for this time of year.

Ingredients:

Pasta (short cuts work best, so pick your favorite!)

Fresh mozzarella

Fresh tomato

Fresh basil

Olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Boil the water and cook the pasta until it is al dente.  Drain and set aside (either back in the cooking pan to save on dishes later or in a serving dish).

While the water is boiling, chop up a very ripe tomato (you can use a just ripe tomato and it works fine, but very ripe tends to be juicier and you don’t risk wasting the tomato!) and toss it into a  sauté pan with a little bit of warm olive oil and salt.  Let the tomato chunks cook up a bit in the oil and then turn the heat off.  Basically you are making a very basic tomato sauce so you want to let the tomatoes get a little mushy so you get some liquid in the pan (a mix of the tomato guts and the oil).

While the tomatoes are cooking, cut the fresh mozzarella into bite-sized chunks and set aside. Chop the basil into bite-sized pieces as well (if you leave the basil leaf whole, well, that’s a whole lot of basil in one bite!).

At this point, everything should be cooked so you just need to assemble.  Pour the tomatoes over the pasta and toss.  Then add the basil and the mozzarella and toss again.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

This dish could not be simpler to make and could not be tastier.  It’s an absolutely yummy dish and the best part is that it is super quick to make, so it’s a great option for a night when you don’t really feel like cooking.

7 responses to “Caprese Pasta

  1. So simple, yet I never, ever would have thought of making it. Now, I’m contemplating doing so… Mmm, tomatoes. Hehe.

  2. Totally forbidden on my diet but yum. Think if I made it I would probably use spaghetti though despite you saying short cut works best. I’m a spaghetti girl at heart!

  3. That looks delicious… I will have to make very soon!

  4. Sooo, when do we eat?

  5. Wow that looks amazing. I might have to add this to my recipe rotation. SO tasty looking oh my gosh.

  6. I concur! Pasta for life. The recipe looks delicious!! oh, I’m hungry!!!

  7. You had me at fresh mozzarella.

    And yes, I WILL do anything for cheese. That obvious? ;-)

Leave a Reply

